My new blog!

Hello and welcome to my new blog, I recently changed from having a blogger account to using WordPress for my blog. In doing this I’m hoping to use my blog a lot more frequently and post a lot more about my own work and processes. So I think I should introduce myself. My name is Jessica Holden and I’m an illustrator based in Lancaster, I recently graduated from the University of Cumbria in Carlisle. I love vintage/ antique shops the ones where there’s just lots of stuff scattered everywhere, so you never know what you’re going to find. I think places like this are always good for finding inspiration for my illustrations. I’m also a big fan of nature and animals so taking a walk in the park armed with my camera is something I always enjoy. When I’m not finding inspiration for my work I love nothing more than having a cup of tea and reading a good book. My favourite author at the moment is Kate Morton, I love how her books flick from the past to the present and have a good mystery about them. My favourite quote that I’ve come across is;

Creativity is easier with a cup of tea and a biscuit

Thats definitely something I always do! In my illustrations I work with collage, 3D sets and photoshop, I’m inspired by vintage designs and anything with an aged feel to it. I think my favourite types of illustrations are editorials as I like to summarise the tone of an article within one piece. I’ve also recently enjoyed making photo books, which I will have to do a blog post about later. I’ve created these for two of my University projects. An illustrated alphabet book and one based around Alice in wonderland.

To find out more about me visit my about page on my blog.

Stay tuned for my next blog post where I’m going to talk about my favourite piece of work I’ve created up to now.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

